Author Topic: Setting up UoG Server  (Read 24720 times)

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Setting up UoG Server
« on: September 18, 2012, 10:44:58 PM »
ok ive put in everything correctly heres my info

Username:   Not provided for security
Password:   Not provided for security
Confirm password:   Not provided for security
Email:               Not provided for security   
Shard name:   MistMan37's World
Shard description:   Private
Banner URL (max 728px*90px):   None
Website URL:   None
Shard host/IP:   184.76.2.28
Shard port number:   2593

i then get this:
Error
* Hostname and/or port is invalid.

now i know that my IP is right cuz i got it via the whatismyip on the website, i am sure the port is correct cuz of the other people using the same one, what i dont know is if i need to change any scripts to reflect my current ip and where to do so if i need to, please lend a helping hand with the script names and line numberes and what i need to put in them, thank you so much

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 04:53:48 PM »
I forgot to put that the server does run when i start it up but that i cant log into the server because each time i try i end up logging into the officail UO online, even when i changed the scripts login in my UO directory, perhaps i need to also change it to in my servers directory? thanks a bunch for any help

Red Squirrel

  • Administrator
  • Seeker
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • Age of Valor free UO Shard
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 07:44:13 AM »
The port does not seem to be accessible.  Are you running this on a home network and do you have a router?

You will want to forward the port.  That may also explain why you can't connect.

Basically the way it works is the IP you provided is your external IP and represents your router's external interface.  Any machine connected to the router is "behind" the NAT, and they'll have their own IPs like 192.168.0.100 and so on.  What you need to do is logon the router and forward port 2593 to the 192.168 IP of the shard.  You can check how to do this in your router's manual or Google it, as they're all different.

Some routers like to call it something completely different like "virtual server".    You may also need to edit a file (serverlist.cs I think) so that the shard advertises the external IP. Though I think the newer RunUO does this automaticly.


Oh and I kinda steered away from the original question, but the reason it wont take the shard is because of the connectivity problem.  The UOG form will actually try to make a tcp connection to that port to validate it.  The poller then sends a UO specific packet to get the info.

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2012, 09:17:14 AM »
Im using runuo2.2 and as far as i know i am not behind a firewall nor do i use a router, i do connect via Wifi connection, could this be considered a router? Ive never had a problem connecting to my own shard til now, the fact that i can connect to Ultima Online via the Origin Server has me stumped but i cant connect to my own server, I did attempt to set my ip manually but you were right the default on serverlist.cs is Null which is where ill leave it because it detects the ip and this ip it detects is the one ive been using i even tried to use the 127.0.0.1 i think thats the local one i could be wrong on the last digit, but i did try and still got connected to Ultima Online via Origin whats wierd is that the server doesnt have a problem loading up so thats fine and it does say that its listening but for some reason doesnt show any connection attemps so im kinda stumped what to do, thanks for your help in advance and for the help so far.

i was just looking at the serverlist.cs file and i was wondering if this bottom part needed to be changed and why there were already addresses in there, was this part of the person that made the program's ip? do they reflect why i am not able to connect? or are they just there as a example  i know the first 3 are examples but im confused for the ones listed below that and not sure why they are there in the first place, thanks again for the help in advance

private static bool IsPrivateNetwork( IPAddress ip )
      {
         // 10.0.0.0/8
         // 172.16.0.0/12
         // 192.168.0.0/16

         if ( ip.AddressFamily == AddressFamily.InterNetworkV6 )
            return false;

         if ( Utility.IPMatch( "192.168.*", ip ) )
            return true;
         else if ( Utility.IPMatch( "10.*", ip ) )
            return true;
         else if ( Utility.IPMatch( "172.16-31.*", ip ) )
            return true;
         else
            return false;
      }

      private static IPAddress FindPublicAddress()
« Last Edit: September 20, 2012, 09:32:43 AM by MistMan37 »

Red Squirrel

  • Administrator
  • Seeker
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • Age of Valor free UO Shard
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2012, 04:38:38 PM »
If you have wifi then chances are it's a wifi router.  So you will need to login to it to forward the port.  If you do ipconfig on the machine, what do you get?

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2012, 05:46:49 PM »
The wifi is a modem not a router, i did do a google search to make sure because after you said i might have a router i was confused but the internet site which provides my internet states that it is a modem and not a router and the google clearly states that the router is used for a network which i dont have.  Im running windows7 does that have a ipconfig? sorry for all these questions but this is all new to me.  Ill do a search for ipconfig and see what i come up with, thanks again for your help

i found the ipconfig, but when i ran it, the window that popped up was only there for one sec then it went poof, is there anyway to fix this to be able to tell you the info it provides?

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2012, 06:06:09 PM »
ok i found the cmnd window which let me do the ipconfig and the window didnt dissappear using it so heres the info provided:

Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::41e1:d274:a988:b588%10
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.2
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1

Tunnel adapter isatap.{05DD0F32-480B-4B78-982A-5513A637B37E}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:9d:1211:3f57:f0fd
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9d:1211:3f57:f0fd%12
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

Red Squirrel

  • Administrator
  • Seeker
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • Age of Valor free UO Shard
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2012, 10:07:41 PM »
Ohh a modem with built in wifi, yeah those are basically a modem/router.  It's like connecting a router to a normal modem except it's in one box. 

Try going to http://192.168.15.1 to see if some kind of web interface comes up.  That will be your router's admin page.   You'll have to guess the password, it might be admin/blank or something like that.

Worse case scenario you could try contacting your ISP and they might be able to help you.  Is this a Speedstream by chance?  I've played with those slightly and I do know you can forward ports. 

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2012, 05:04:23 AM »
i went to that site you told me to goto but ive never seen that site before in my life, it did load up asking for a password and i have no idea what that may be, my internet provider is Clear Internet service.  Im not sure what a speedstream is, but i dont think i have it, i can contact my internet provider and ask questions, im just not sure what to ask them, maybe i ask them am i behind a firewall or what my port is? i went to ispchicken something and they gave me a port but no matter what i tried the uogateway still wouldnt ping, again thanks for any and all help

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #9 on: September 22, 2012, 05:21:48 AM »
ok apparently the address you gave me http://192.168.15.1 is the correct address and although ive never seen it, i did contact clear and talk to a live representive, they wernt able to help me so then i went to questions and answers in network and found the password for the hub or that site for http://192.168.15.1 im now in it but not sure what to do next, I have 6 options

1. Personalize
2. Internet
3. Status
4. Port forwarding
5. Local Address
6. Control Panel

you said something about needing to port forward so im gonna assume its number 4
so now it wants the dmz ip address, is this the whatismyisp address or the address the server comes up with or do i need to input the uogateway ip address?

Red Squirrel

  • Administrator
  • Seeker
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • Age of Valor free UO Shard
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2012, 03:47:30 AM »
That address is actually your router.  It's under "default gateway" from the ipconfig command. Only you can access it as it is a local IP that only works for equipment plugged into that router (physically)

You'll want to choose #4, and you want to forward port 2593 to IP address 192.168.15.2 (your UO server).  What this will do is it will forward traffic to your local server and the shard should work then.

Another thing, I see you have IPv6 enabled.  I recall briefly something about that being an issue with UO.  You may possibly have to turn it off, but I'm not familiar with that myself since when I ran a shard it was on windows 2003 and not 2008.

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2012, 05:47:35 AM »
Port Forwarding:

for Protocol i have 2 options here TCP or UDP
Then it wants:
WAN Port Start: 4 digit here
WAN Port End:   4 digit here
LAN IP:             IP Address here
LAN Port Start:   4 digit here
LAN Port End:     4 digit here

once i know what to put in these spaces i should be finally setup hopefully
i ran a whatismyips and got 184.76.2.28 Remote Port 52833 but ive noticed that this port changes everytime you reset the site on IpChicken.com

Red Squirrel

  • Administrator
  • Seeker
  • *****
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • Age of Valor free UO Shard
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2012, 07:56:10 PM »
Don't worry about the remote port.  Basically that's the port that was used for your computer to connect to the site.  It's normal that it changes.

For your settings here's what you'll want to put:

WAN Port Start: 2593
WAN Port End:   2593
LAN IP:             192.168.15.2
LAN Port Start:   2593
LAN Port End:     2593

One thing to keep in mind though is if you turn off the shard computer, it's possible that the IP 192.168.15.2 changes.  If you want to play it safe you may want to set a static IP address on that computer, but if it stays on all the time you should be fine.

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2012, 11:11:03 PM »
ok I was finally able to add my shard to UOG now perhaps i could get some help on the files i need to edit to make it so that the server 1 stops asking for my directory to UO and 2 connects to the home uo where the server is running and not the UO of the official shard thanks again for all your help and patience

MistMan37

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Setting up UoG Server
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2012, 06:26:23 AM »
I setup razor and by using the default local address of 127.0.0.1 i was able to login, im also using Pandorabox3.0.0.5 i was able to finally run it but when it was reading the maps in the uo directory it came up with errors so the maps never loaded on it, any help  in being able to load the uo maps would be greatly appreciated, Thank you so much for your help Red Squirrel with setting up my network.

 


This website and service is non profit other than the little revenue received through ads.
Donations are appreciated to help keep this service going.